The miracle of green smoothies

20130924-171450.jpg

I had been drinking Greens+ as a morning smoothie for a couple of years now, but I have only started formulating my own, from real greens, since this summer. What got me started was my daughters’ bumper crop of Swiss chard (which is still going strong). I purchased an inexpensive blender and I started using the fresh leaves along with other super foods to create a protein-rich, anti-oxidant rich and dare I say it: delicious drink.
I was always afraid of the bitter taste of fresh greens and couldn’t imagine them concentrated into a morning drink. Bleh!
Well, I’m singing a different tune now. I absolutely adore my green smoothie!
The great thing about making your own smoothie is that you can modify it to whatever you like and your body needs. For instance, right now in my life I am in need of hormone balancing. There is no better super food than Maca for this, in my opinion. It has a pleasant malted milkshake flavour.
On top of that I use ground flaxseed, chia seeds and hemp protein, which is a marvellous source of both protein and essential fatty acids, as well as being vegan (for those of you out there who are).

Some other yummy and healthy additions are cinnamon, cocoa, and even turmeric, if you don’t mind a slight curry flavour.
If you’ve never tried having a green smoothie before, I urge you to give it a try. Your body will love you for it!

20130924-173206.jpg

20130924-173218.jpg

20130924-173226.jpg

20130924-173235.jpg

20130924-173252.jpg

20130924-173305.jpg

20130924-173310.jpg

Please comment on this post

