Happy Father’s Day!

20130611-170313.jpg
A very Happy Father’s Day to all the Dads, Step-Dads, Expecting Dads and Potential Dads out there!
What does it take to be a good Dad? Well, speaking from my own experience, (but not of my own Father), a good Dad is there for his children – present, available, supportive, kind, playful, and disciplinary when called for.
My Father was very harsh at times, and just detached most of the time. I always say that he was just a product of the times, that all Dads were like that back then, that he didn’t know any better, etc. etc.
But if I stop to think about it, I had a couple of really good Father figures in my life who were very important to me – my maternal Grandfather and my Uncle John, my Mother’s eldest brother, who is still alive and kicking in Wales. He was always so much fun, and played with all us “cousins” for hours. And I have such fond memories of spending time with my Granddad, often just observing his bees in the hive, and of course tasting the honey! He taught me a lot about patience and being kind.
When I was a young girl and dating I think I must have very subconsciously been looking for qualities such as these in a potential husband, and very luckily for myself and my children – I landed a great one, a crackerjack, in fact! Of the pair of us he is definitely the more nurturing one, and if they had had paternity leave 30 years ago, he would have been home with our babies for sure.
When I look at his parents, however, I believe he would have learned these traits from his Mom, not his Dad, as she was basically love – personified.
So make sure you honour all the Dads and Father-figures in your life this coming weekend. It’s a hard job to be a good Dad, and often goes unrecognized and unrewarded. Perhaps a nicely prepared meal – barbequed ribs and Sally’s potato salad???

Please comment on this post

