A Balancing Act

20130312-221305.jpg

Today’s centering thought in Deepak Chopra’s 21-day meditation challenge is: “Balance is my true nature”. Well, if balance is my true nature, why do I so quickly lose it? Sometimes I think my life is too rigmarole. I follow pretty much the same schedule, day after day. If you look at my daytimer I have a set weekday schedule that I follow quite religiously. It includes exercise, rest periods, work, and then there are the things I do for recreation or fun. Strangely enough, the daily preparation of food for dinner and the shopping for ingredients is something I do everyday, and schedule into my calendar. (Yes, I know this is kind of OCD). But it’s not a chore for me as I really look forward to using my skills to produce a delicious, nutritious dinner. When I can share the fruits of my labour with my family and know that I am nourishing their bodies, well that nourishes my soul. I also find the chopping, slicing, mixing etc. quite meditative. I use the time in the kitchen to relax and focus on what I’m doing – to live in the moment. My morning meditation does the same thing for me, but more intensely. I can very briefly get into the “zone” for a minute or so, which affects my whole day positively by making my mind more alert and awake.
However, if my set schedule changes significantly or if I have been missing either my morning meditation or my exercise, or haven’t been eating properly, usually because I have a deadline to work towards and feel rushed and hurried, suddenly my entire life is out of kilter. I feel off-balance. I don’t take the time for rest periods, I don’t take the time to drink enough water, I don’t have the time to stop and cook nutritious meals and suddenly my body is spiraling into dis-ease. I don’t mean illness, necessarily, well, not yet, anyway. My heart is beating faster than normal, I feel anxiety, I can’t get to sleep because thoughts are whirling around in my head, and then when I do get to sleep, I can’t stay asleep. So, without adequate rest, my body starts feeling like it’s falling apart.
It’s amazing to me how quickly this can happen – a couple of weeks is all it takes for me.
That’s why I’m so happy that I’ve started doing the Deepak Chopra meditation again. Just a couple of days and I already feel better and know what I need to do to get back on track. The best thing is that because I have increased alertness, I become more productive and life and work seem easier and less stressful. How good is that?

Please comment on this post

