Healthier Cosmetics

Better For You Make-Up

My 17-year old eye
My 54-year old eye!

So many of us like to (or hope to, anyway) improve our appearance using cosmetics. But with so much new information coming out about chemicals and toxins in make-up and skin-care products, what are we supposed to do? I can share what has worked for me over the last year or so, as I have been consciously trying to avoid toxins, and especially those which behave like hormones in our bodies. Firstly you should know that the skin on our faces and especially our eyelids is very thin and susceptible to absorption of certain chemicals such as: parabens, etc. so avoiding them when at all possible is prudent. Earlier this year I did some research on “The Less Toxic Guide-Canada” and experimented with several brands of natural cosmetics and, luckily, found some that worked wonderfully for me:

Everyday Minerals, out of Austin, TX is a wonderful company making and distributing body and planet friendly mineral cosmetics in fabulous colours, great user-friendly packaging and great service. (I had my package delivered to Canada in about a week).They also provide a great sample service whereby for a quarter they will send you a generous packet of sample to try. My ab-fab is their roll-on eyeshadow which delivers just the right amount to your eyelid without mess or fuss. I also love, love, love their lipstick which is the first lipstick I’ve used that feels and smells so amazing that I actually want to re-apply. ;
I have also been using Honeybee Gardens truly natural mascara and their jojoba eye and lip pencils. All are wonderful and feel so good on the skin

I have also been using Honeybee Gardens truly natural mascara and their jojoba eye and lip pencils. All are wonderful and feel so good on the skin.
The mascara is quite thick and if you’re not careful applying it, you may have to use an eyelash brush to comb it out, but even with that inconvenience, it’s still a great mascara – easy to wash off with Nutribiotics non-soap and water, and it doesn’t flake off during the day.

;

For foundation I have been using EccoBella Flowercolor foundation. Although it is quite drying and I would never put it on my naked skin, I find that if I put it over my regular moisturizer (Desert Essence organic jojoba oil), that it lasts all day and is not drying at all.


Please comment on this post

